A Little Taste

Well, Fall sure seems to have hit me like a ton of bricks. Life has been so busy on all fronts that crafting (and posting about it)  has taken a bit of a backseat. I have had a chance to get a little creative though, under the guise of re-furbishing my home office. It’s actually my office office, but we’ll get to that later (next month?) when I show you the whole project. For now though I just want to give you a taste. A small project when compared to the whole, but fun and DIY enough to satisfy for a while.

A bit ago, Siobhan posted about the satisfaction she’d gotten in out-Ikea-ing Ikea. But I’ve got to give it to them this time. Check out this great chair I found in the scratch and dent section…

before...

Took me a while to place the chairs – there were several of them, all in what seemed to be “used” condition. Nothing I’d seen on the showroom floor and really quite sturdy for Ikea chairs. It wasn’t until I examined them closely and discovered a layer of ick in the seams that I realized I had stumbled on rejects from their restaurant.  And at the fantastic price of $7 each. Sold.

So home we went, me and my 4 chairs. The metal frames were in good shape so I decided on just a new coat of paint for the wooden seats and backs (after a thorough cleaning, of course). The seats were easy to remove and replace – they’re held in place with with standard screws – but it took some fancy work with tape and plastic sheeting to protect the metal frame when painting the backs. Nothing too bad though and now, take a look …

after!

Fabulous, if I do say so myself. Stay tuned to see if the rest of the office fares as well.

About ashley...again

I don't get to craft as often as I'd like. So whenever possible I make like it's housework and whip up something useful. And thrifty. And, hopefully, cute.
This entry was posted in Ms. Crafter, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Little Taste

  1. angela says:

    Well done! They DID turn out nicely. Now I want to go troll scratch-and-dent at Ikea!

  2. Bop says:

    Wow! They look great…minimalist and classic.

Leave a Reply

