I Heart Trees & Your Paper Craft Can Too!



Well hello and welcome! I’m so excited to be a part of abluehouseblog’s crafty community.   In my posts I hope to bring a bit of crafty goodness and eventually introduce you to artists in our community. As someone who is enviro-conscience, I’m kicking things off with a post about re-purposing some 2010 calenders.

For a long time, I’ve had a box of 2010 calenders from my day job sitting in my car. I finally decided to drag them in and use the suckers for a craft project. If I have the opportunity to re-use or recycle I will take it!

The idea- use the calender to make pillow boxes. Pillow boxes can make custom packages for small gifts like soaps, stocking stuffers, and wedding favors. The calenders are made with a thick semi-glossy paper, much like a card stock.

Materials:

  1. template (courtesy of http://www.carolynsstampstore.com/)
  2. scrap card board/thicker paper (card stock)
  3. scissors
  4. blunt object for scoring
  5. ribbon/twine
  6. tags, decorative labels (optional)
  7. glue (craft glue, hot glue gun, double sided tape)

Instructions:

I found it useful to make myself 2 cardstock templates (pictured in black below).

The first one is the outline;

PillowBoxTemplate

The second I use to help score in an even pattern;

PillowBoxTemplate2

Here is a preview of the calendar image before I take my scissors to it, a lovely underwater view of coral;

  • Cut out the template (solid lines) and trace the pattern onto card stock/cardboard (in this case my calender).
  • Cut out the pattern (solid lines). Score and fold firmly on the (two) straight lines to make a crease (one is the center line, the other is for the tab). You can click on the below image to enlarge it;

  • Score along the dotted lines, pressing down to indent the paper. I use the non-cutting edge of my scissors. (Here is where my 2nd template comes in, uneven scoring can mean not-so-pretty results.)

  • Glue the tab so that it is tucked on the inside of the box. Double sided tape works nicely- no waiting for glue to dry!

  • Gently fold in the curved flaps one by one (you can glue/tape one side in place, but usually the finishing ribbon will do)

I usually fold the flaps like so…(front/back)

  • Plop your gift inside and fold flaps, use the ribbon to hold the unglued flaps closed.
  • Finish with decorative labels or scrap decorative paper.

I  usually wrap smaller items in tissue paper for cushion. Not feeling crafty enough but still want to be green? Check out this shop that uses recycled materials to make pillow boxes.

About Anna (three birds jewelry)

I love spending time gardening, paper crafting, sewing, knitting, and metalsmithing. I also love all sorts of DIY projects around the home. Anything hands on is usually my cup of tea. I look forward to sharing crafts and eventually introducing you to artists.
This entry was posted in Three Birds Jewelry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Heart Trees & Your Paper Craft Can Too!

  1. ashley...again says:

    great idea! The box really transforms that calendar from the mundane.

Leave a Reply

