do what you love. every day.

One must be drenched in words, literally soaked in them, to have the right ones form themselves into the proper patterns at the right moment. Hart Crane, American poet

I’ve been on a mission lately. A mission to grow as a photographer, as a crafter, as a human being. I won’t get into all the different ways I’m working to do this, but one of my key tenets is to just *do*.

Oh hey, Nike. I forgot about you.  Your message is spot on. I can sit around the house and have my life pass me by without actually doing a whole heck of a lot. Or I can do. For me, this means finally taking a sewing class so I can be afraid of my sewing machine no longer. It means starting from the very beginning as a runner, just putting one foot in front of the other. It means bringing my camera with me and *using* it all of the time.

You’d think this would be easy for me. I generally have at least two cameras  (my iphone and my point and shoot) with me just about all of the time. Except I don’t always take photos with them. Days will have passed before I realize I haven’t taken a single photo. That’s madness. I’m a photographer. I love taking pictures. But sometimes it feels a bit like work. And it’s not always easy to lug around my other camera. It’s big and unwieldy. It draws attention. Except, you know what? I *love* taking photos with it. I love capturing what I see around me. I just have to remember to do it. Every day. I need to drench myself in photos, taking good ones, taking bad ones.

So today, I made the choice to bring my big camera with me. I made the choice to do: to photograph what I see around me, to photograph my life, my kids, my experiences. It was unwieldy. I bumped it into some things.

But see what I captured today. If I would have chosen *not* to bring my camera, I would have missed out on all of this:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I feel a bit like GI Joe: knowing is half the battle. Except it’s not ‘knowing.’ It’s ‘doing.’ Doing is half the battle. The more you do, the better sense you have for finding where you want to go. Drench yourself in whatever it is you love to do. Writers, write. Crafters, craft. Photogs, photograph. You will be happier for it.

About monet

photographer, sometimes writer, wife to my best friend, mom to three amazing kids. passionate about supporting public education. and camping. I love camping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to do what you love. every day.

  1. Rebecca says:

    I just bought a purse from Jo Totes (http://jototes.com/), specifically so I could take my Nikon D40 with me everywhere.

    • Siobhan says:

      hooray! wanna share what you capture with us in 1 day? we’d love to have you as a guest contributor Rebecca!

    • monet says:

      I’ve had my eye on the marigold one for a while 🙂 how do you like it?
      and I second Siobhan’s suggestion. Don’t worry that you work from home. It’s good to take photos of the things around you: your mug of tea, the books stacked on your desk, the view out the window.

      • Rebecca says:

        So far I really like the purse (I got teal), it’s a lot bigger than my normal purse, but I’m getting used to it. I find the shoulder strap a bit short to wear such a large purse comfortably, so I’m not using it. I’m also thinking about getting their smaller purse that’s coming out in the next few weeks.

        I’m still learning how to use my new 50mm lens (which I got after I took your class!) I love it so far, but it’s a lot of trial and error.

  2. ashley...again says:

    Great post, fantastic photos, beautiful kids. Well done!

  3. Dang Amanda says:

    Like Jónsi sings, GO DO.

  4. Jaimi says:

    Beautiful posting Monet! Just. do. it. I’m inspired now to get to those tasks that I’ve been meaning to do for months! I can’t wait to see your pics from our session. It’s like waiting for Christmas and your pictures are always so beautiful. So excited.

Leave a Reply

