Start Them Off Early

I went to an art opening last night. I know, fancy for a Tuesday. I’d never been to one before, so didn’t quite know what to expect. Turns out, it was loud. Animated. Everybody talking at once, admiring the work, snapping photos. The pieces in the collection were varied – abstract mostly, but featuring a variety of techniques and materials. Lots of vibrant color, liberal use of texture.

I have to say, the artists were a bit temperamental. No tantrums, but there was definitely attitude. I supposed it was to be expected, with so much talent in one place. And, really, it was awfully close to their bedtime.

the artist discusses his work

As part of the Month of the Young Child, Gretchen’s House childcare centers pair with local businesses to display the children’s artwork. My own little Picasso is lucky enough to have local artist Laila Kujala as his childcare teacher and artistic mentor so his show, I’m sure, had particular finesse.

Celebrate the Month of the Young Child with Gretchen’s House-Stadium artists at these locations throughout the week … Barry Bagels on Jackson Avenue, Eastern Accents on 4th Ave, and Zingerman’s Next Door on Detroit St.

still creating, even at the show

Or, just grab a smock and create some memories with your own young artist.

About ashley...again

I don't get to craft as often as I'd like. So whenever possible I make like it's housework and whip up something useful. And thrifty. And, hopefully, cute.
This entry was posted in Ms. Crafter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Start Them Off Early

  1. Heather Braspenninx says:

    ADORABLE!!!! 🙂 I only wish that Jacob were awake right now so that I could make something with him! No wait…he is finally napping. Nap away my son and we will be creative this evening! 🙂 PS- he is definitely the cutest artist I have ever seen! 😉

  2. Martha says:

    Wonderful art…Beautiful artist !

  3. Sandra says:

    Wonderful! And the writing is pretty good too. I loved it.

  4. Laila says:

    Ashley, I love this post! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

