crayon eggs, twig nest

Oh, it’s Spring around here in these parts of Michigan. The birds are singing, the daffodils are blooming, a spring breeze is blowing through my windows, and best of all, there is still light at 8:00. It’s also the time of year I get to thinking about coloring eggs. I *love* coloring eggs. I usually hard boil three or four dozen eggs, which is way too many to eat, but is definitely not too many to color. There are so many different ways to color eggs.

This year, after seeing this in Family Fun, I thought I would try something new with the kids: crayon eggs. This isn’t your average draw on the eggs with crayon then dye them kind of thing. Oh no. This is a melty crayon, crazy egg kind of thing.

First step: hard boil the eggs. My usual way of doing that is to bring the water up to a simmer, put the eggs in with a slotted spoon, bring the water back up to a simmer, and wait ten minutes.

While I was waiting for the eggs, I grated some crayons with a microplane. I made a rainbow.

Any other day, I would usually take the eggs out of the water and immerse them in an ice bath to stop the cooking, but NO. Don’t do that this time. Just take the eggs out, dry them, then set them up on bottle caps or something to hold them up. An adult should do this – the eggs are hot. We used a cut toilet paper roll to hold the eggs since I didn’t have enough bottle caps. I think really, you want to have bottle caps – so much more surface area of the egg is available.

Then we went for it. I set each kid up with an egg on a paper plate. They sprinkled the wax over their eggs to their hearts’ content. The hot eggs melt the wax on contact. It’s fun to watch.

It started off looking so very cool. It turned into some crazy looking eggs. My daughter turned hers into what looks like a dinosaur egg, mottled and very textured. She and her friends loved what they were doing. I would suggest being thoughtful about your color palette and using the wax maybe a little more sparingly.

I also tried just rubbing a crayon on one of the hot eggs. It melted on like waxy paint. It’s messy and not too pretty, but so satisfying.

My daughter wanted to make sure you knew she gave crayon eggs two thumbs up.

We needed something to put our fancy crayon eggs in, so we made simple twig nests out of these three ingredients:

We smooshed down the sides of a lunch bag, broke up some sticks, poured the glue into a pool on a paper plate, dipped the twigs in, and fashioned ourselves a nest. Cute *and* easy. Thank you, Family Fun, for this idea, as well.

And since I am always looking for new ways to color eggs, do you have any tricks up your sleeve? I’d love if you shared.

About monet

photographer, sometimes writer, wife to my best friend, mom to three amazing kids. passionate about supporting public education. and camping. I love camping.
This entry was posted in Crafty Kids and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to crayon eggs, twig nest

  1. Anna (three birds jewelry) says:

    very cute! my girlfriend and i have gotten together to dye eggs and we were recently reminiscing about how fun it is (neither of us have kids, mind you). this would be so fun to do! thanks for sharing…

  2. Karl says:

    I loved watching the wax shavings melt and run down the egg. Very satisfying.

  3. Shelly says:

    Something very different to do with Easter Eggs.
    L.E.D. Easter Eggs
    http://itbl.es/fxruVM

  4. LOVE this project! I can’t wait to try it. Thanks so much, Monet.

Leave a Reply

