crafting the days away

There are some days that I find just get away from me. Whether because of everyday errands, business-keeping, or just the occasional bout of laziness, it’s often easy for the day to get whittled away by things that aren’t necessarily high on my list of “things that make me happy.” Sometimes I have to remind myself how fortunate I am to have a space to which I can retreat when creativity calls. But I’ve also been very lucky to be involved in another creative venture. I spend three days a week in a lofty, sun-drenched space in West Chelsea as the Crafts Department intern for Martha Stewart Living magazine, where the surroundings themselves keep my crafty mind in action. It’s in the Craft Room that I get to be surrounded by crafty people and any possible craft supply you could imagine, from pips to poppies. There have been many days here that I’ve found myself crafting the day away while listening to NPR or spanish guitar and gazing out the window at the Hudson River. I thought I would share with you some little bits of my days there in the hopes that they may inspire you to get lost in your craft for a day or two (and hopefully many more!).

Dress forms stare out the windows at midtown Manhattan in the distance.

Gourds get kept throughout the year for autumn craft projects, and these sweet yellow tissue paper flowers brighten a rainy day.

Lots of shells and sea life at the ready.

A very calming view toward Manhattan's Upper West Side. I find myself gazing out these windows quite a bit.

Stacks upon stacks of supplies - these are the color-coordinated bins of ribbon.

More fantastic colors! Threads of silk and cotton.

A pre-show shot of the set of the Martha Stewart show during the Craft Hour earlier this year.

About whitney crutchfield

I'm a textile designer, artist, and intern extraordinaire giving it a shot in the big city. I like to look at things and watch people. You might find me toiling away on a new design in my Brooklyn studio, embarrassingly chuckling at NPR guests as I fiddle with things in the craft room of a certain lifestyle company, salivating while staring at the pie shop that sits below my bedroom window, or dodging doggy poo on a run in Prospect Park. www.whitneycrutchfield.com
This entry was posted in art city as muse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to crafting the days away

  1. Siobhan says:

    Ahhhh! I love those bins.

  2. Jaimi says:

    How inspiring, Whitney! I loved reading your post today and getting a sneak peek into your crafty world!

  3. Liz says:

    Ah, the professional crafters life is a good one. We are still on deadline, but happily so.

  4. How awesome!! I envy that mega craft supply room! Mine is starting to look like that except with a lack of organization 🙂 Looks so fun! Enjoy it missy!!

  5. Anna (three birds jewelry) says:

    what a view! how true that time has a way of slipping away. taking a class at the art center has reminded me of how inportant it is to surround yourself with other creatives in your ‘area’…always something to learn.

Leave a Reply

