Making way for creative freedom… in the most unlikely places; in the most unlikely ways

When you work from home, every room can have an impact on your work… even the bathroom..If you pursue your craft in-domicile as I frequently do, every inch of your domestic space becomes your personal think tank.  That means a generous spread of unmet responsibilities and nagging projects are constantly clamoring for your attention — and making your attention span swirl down the drain.

TODAY’S DISTRACTION:

The Charles Bukowski of under-sink existence… makes it impossible for me to work…

Yours truly (who does a lot of thinking in her bath) finds that a newly occupied apartment is a poor environment for focused writing of any kind.  How, after all, can I possibly concentrate with all of Manhattan sprawling tantalizingly outside the window, and the pangs of failed-domestic-female guilt awakened by the daunting domicile to-dos inside the window?

The solution? Schedule time for both: bathroom-ugly-control AND writing… then head out for wine later... So this week, I organized my time this way: a 20 hour target for corporate writing on Tues-Thursday.  Monday I set aside for two things: organization of work-space, and four hours of uninterrupted (HAH!) creative writing time. So far, it’s worked remarkably well. 

Project: Hide ugly under-sink area and gain some serious storage… and relief from mess-guilt…
But... The pipes and strange design prevent a normal set of pull-out drawers!
Solution: Boxes of two different sizes that perfectly fit the space!

But… They don’t sit on each other very well… they fall apart…

Oh, rats... this is not the fix I had in mind...

THIS is more like what I want...

Solution: Attach some “thingies” (someone called them “shims”) to make sure the boxes stack well and stay put:

I needed some "Thingies" - and my neighbor's trusty drill...

First I had to measure the places where the “thingies” would work best: 

Right about now, while I'm doing all this strenuous measuring, writing work is starting to sound GREAT...

Then, I attached the little thingies using both a screwdriver and a drill.  Short story ideas were swirling through my head.  I felt very intrepid.

HOW many more of these do I have to do?

One down. Dreaming of pastry shops.

slowly…

slowly…

slowly…

At last, not a nail broken (because I was using little screws, not nails) – I was ready to try out my creation in the bathroom…

Marginally better... now I can get on with writing...

About Wednesday Black

Wednesday Black spends her time between two great cities, New York and New Orleans. She lives with the Black Prince and the ghost of her late dachshund, Duchess. While How to Train Your Virgin is her first work of erotic fiction, it will not be the last.
This entry was posted in Around the Home and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

