Just in time for Mothers Day

There is something about spring that causes my list of things ‘to do’ to grow and grow. But this week I set aside time to prepare for mothers day. I wanted to do something simple and of course handmade.A scarf might not be the first thing on your mind as a mothers day gift, but spring this year in Michigan has been slow to produce warm weather, so I thought it appropriate enough. I had jersey fabric from a previous project and since my sewing machine needs service it seemed meant to be!

The idea comes from a post I’d seen somewhere in the blogosphere about using freezer paper stencil. I’m not sure where I saw the post, but the idea of a freezer paper stencil is pretty well-known. Here is a list of what you will need to make your own scarf;

  • jersey fabric
  • scissors
  • freezer paper
  • pencil
  • X-Acto knife
  • cutting mat
  • fabric paint ( I used acrylic paint because I had it around)
  • brush (foam)
  • iron

The idea is simple really, sketch an image onto the freezer paper and use an X-Acto knife and cutting mat to cut out the image. Iron the freezer paper shiny-side down onto the jersey fabric.

Use the foam brush to apply the fabric paint and allow it to dry. Be sure to add paper under the fabric so that the surface beneath doesn’t get paint on it. I used a thinner looking effect with the paint, but you could go thicker. Once dry, peel the freezer paper off and wha-la!You don’t have to limit yourself to a scarf, you could use this technique on any fabric. A cute design on an apron or an oven mitt for the mom who loves to cook (though I would check out info on hot temps and paint types). Or if your mom is the entertaining type, you could make a table runner. Endless possibilities!

Did you make something for your mom this year or buy hand made? Do tell!

About Anna (three birds jewelry)

I love spending time gardening, paper crafting, sewing, knitting, and metalsmithing. I also love all sorts of DIY projects around the home. Anything hands on is usually my cup of tea. I look forward to sharing crafts and eventually introducing you to artists.
This entry was posted in Three Birds Jewelry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just in time for Mothers Day

  1. Pingback: Just in Time for Mothers Day | ThreeBirdsJewelry

Leave a Reply

