DIY for Dear Ol’ Dad

I don’t know about you, but I seem to have a hard time coming up with manly DIY projects and gifts. My Dad’s birthday was no different until it hit me- BEER! Here is a sneak peak of what I’m making for this post;My dad is an avid beer brewer and I wanted to make him something custom and handmade. I could ask Brian my talented in-house graphic designer to whip up a cool logo and make sticker labels, but I wanted something more permanent.

You see, in the brewing process my dad sterilizes glass bottles each time, which means new labels each time…here is an example of his labeling;He often reuses commercial beer bottles with pop-off (not twist-off) lids. We have a ton of these bottles, so I thought it would be fun to customize a 6-pack just for him using glass etching.

Materials needed:

  • 6 Pop-off beer bottles (labels removed)
  • Armour Etch Glass Etching Cream
  • Brush
  • Utility sink/Stainless sink
  • Well ventilated work space
  • Letter stickers
  • Tape (masking or other)
  • Scissors

Steps:

  1. First make sure the glass surface is really clean- no sticker gunk left behind.
  2. Apply the letters/stickers to the bottles and tape off any area you don’t want etched. I normally use masking tape but couldn’t locate it – packaging tape worked just fine;
  3. In a well ventilated work space (crack open that window!), apply the etching paste evenly and start your timer for 5 minutes.
  4. Rinse the paste off using running water in a utility sink or a stainless steel sink. Etching solutions can dull porcelain surfaces.Wha-la! I’m done (okay well 5 more to go)!He could keep them for himself, or give them as a special gift. Fathers day is right around the corner. You could easily use this idea to customize a mug- or any glass object with text or designs. Check out this post for other glass etching designs and ideas.
About Anna (three birds jewelry)

I love spending time gardening, paper crafting, sewing, knitting, and metalsmithing. I also love all sorts of DIY projects around the home. Anything hands on is usually my cup of tea. I look forward to sharing crafts and eventually introducing you to artists.
This entry was posted in Three Birds Jewelry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to DIY for Dear Ol’ Dad

  1. Pingback: DIY for Dear Ol’ Dad | ThreeBirdsJewelry

  2. Ashley says:

    These are nifty! Then again, I’ve loved all the glass etching projects you’ve done. Must try.

  3. monet says:

    this is a fantastic idea. I think I know what my dad’s father day gift will be. thanks, Anna!

  4. sloeginfizz says:

    Nice job, Anna! These are terrific. I love the style of letters you chose.

  5. Anna (three birds jewelry) says:

    thanks nicole! i got lucky w/these stickers…wasn’t sure if they would work when i first bought them.

Leave a Reply

