Sewin’ in the Towel

Time for a new project. This time I’ve got the materials, but am short on great ideas. I’ve had this pile of towels for a while now.  Old cast-offs. Not nice enough to continue to use – a hole or two here, a stain or two there – but still very serviceable in the thick and thirsty department. They are mostly white – hold overs from my husband’s bachelor days I think maybe (there’s even one with, ahem, a hotel logo carved into the terry), but there are a few beach towels that had a little pizazz at one time.

So I want to abracadabra them into something new and cutesy. But … what? Google to the rescue! Enter “recycle towels” or “old towel crafts” and here is just a sampling of what you’ll find…

Adorable and oh so useful Swiffer Cover by Amber at Berlin's Whimsy

Upcycled Beach Bag over at Craftzine

"Kooky" Bath Puff from Ruffles and Stuff

I do have one craft of my own to show off …. nothin’ fancy but it did put the towels to good use.  I whipped up this little mattress for a Moses basket to use as a place to put the baby back when the “baby” was small enough to leave somewhere. Perfect fit, perfectly washable. And muuuuch cozier than the thin slice of plastic covered foam that came with.  But that was a few years ago now, and it’s high time the rest of the towels got their piece of the action.

The ideas above were some of my favorites from a wide range of crafty projects in the DIY-osphere (plush slippers, anyone?).  There were plenty of suggestions, of course, for the obvious – making bath towels into hand towels, utility towels or washcloths, etc.  as well as one very bizarre video for making a pair of shorts to wear … rollerskating? (can’t resist, can you? Watch it here). With all that though, I’m still not sure I’ve found my project. So, dear reader, what say you? Any clever ideas to share?  Projects to pass along? Let me have ’em.

About ashley...again

I don't get to craft as often as I'd like. So whenever possible I make like it's housework and whip up something useful. And thrifty. And, hopefully, cute.
This entry was posted in Ms. Crafter, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sewin’ in the Towel

  1. Bop says:

    I am just not crafty when it comes to towels…..the humane society can always use them!

    • ashley...again says:

      I hadn’t thought of it before, but that suggestion was probably the one I came across the most in my search!

  2. angela says:

    That video is funny. Also, if you were to go the shorts route, there is an easier way to deal with the crotch seam: http://indietutes.blogspot.com/2008/06/happy-bum-pants-from-sleeves.html

    I have a pile of towels sitting around that I wanted to turn into post-pool/beach wear for the kids. wide-leg capri pants, hoodies, pull-on skirts. Would make walking back to the car from the beach a whole lot easier if they’re all wearing their towels. So, now I just need to get on it!

  3. angela says:

    kid’s apron/smock?

    crocheted rag-rug bathmat?

  4. Anna (three birds jewelry) says:

    i LOVE the mop idea, i bought a few of the fabric ones when i bought mine- all about reducing the paper waste. Also, i wonder if you could use them as lining for oven mitts?

  5. Pingback: Sewin’ in the Towel: The Project | Blue House Blog

Leave a Reply

