A Quick & Easy Revamp

On a list of things for my home studio is a bulletin board. Here is a sneak peak of the finished product;Originally, this cork board  or this memo board seemed cute. But there were two strikes against these ideas. One, I would need to buy supplies and two, things get a little messy in my studio and fabric might not be best.

I got to thinking about Ashley’s post and realized I have an old pan and lots-o-paint around. The pan has caked blackness on it and I only use it to catch drips in the oven. It was time to give this baby a new life!

I first sanded the black stuff to make a smooth surface using a hand held electric sander (you could do it by hand) and washed off the dust…After drying I used spray primer, I only had black- but it would do. This sort-of backfired because I chose to do it outdoors (instead of in my hot garage)- I had a bug fly into it and some other outdoor debris get stuck (arg). Did my best to pick ’em out tho…Since my studio is in the basement I wanted to keep things bright. Spray paint would’ve been easiest but I have more house paint colors. I chose to use a light blue (also used on my studio peg board- which I have yet to hang!) Two coats of paint and wha-la!I was pleasantly surprised to find that the little debris were barely visible after the coats of paint. A few snazzy magnets from Again Goods and some of my own swag are used to organize tasks, supplies, and equipment ‘wish lists’. You could also used magnetic spice holders, great for little odds and ends.In the end I’m pleased to have one less task on my ‘to do’ studio list!

About Anna (three birds jewelry)

I love spending time gardening, paper crafting, sewing, knitting, and metalsmithing. I also love all sorts of DIY projects around the home. Anything hands on is usually my cup of tea. I look forward to sharing crafts and eventually introducing you to artists.
This entry was posted in Three Birds Jewelry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

