To paint, or not to paint? That is the question.

Okay, okay, so this week’s post isn’t exactly a crafty DIY project but it may blossom into one. First, I need your advice on this sewing cabinet I picked up last weekend;From the pictures in the posting I could tell the wood finish on it has seen better days, so initially I was thinking about painting it. But, once I saw it in person the finish looked better than I’d thought.

I dusted out the cobwebs and cleaned the surfaces. It actually looks halfway decent as-is, the wear and tear adds character. However, up close and personal the problem spots are pretty obvious;

I will be the first to admit that I’m somewhat influenced by my dad, who would never paint anything wood (ha!).  So I can’t tell if that’s why I am leaning towards a refinish, keeping the piece ‘original’. What do you think?

Not only do I love the lines and the hardware, I also love that the legs on one side are centered with the drawers;

I couldn’t find any markings, so I’m not sure the date of manufacture. The woman I bought it from said 1970’s and that seems to fit. I intend to use it as a sewing cabinet, so it will be in the ‘office’ (not in a main living area).

What are your thoughts- keep her ‘original’ or coat her with a fresh layer of paint? If you were to choose paint, what color would you choose? Please help me decide! Have you had similar projects and what were their outcomes?

About Anna (three birds jewelry)

I love spending time gardening, paper crafting, sewing, knitting, and metalsmithing. I also love all sorts of DIY projects around the home. Anything hands on is usually my cup of tea. I look forward to sharing crafts and eventually introducing you to artists.
This entry was posted in Three Birds Jewelry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to To paint, or not to paint? That is the question.

  1. Dang Amanda says:

    I like it how it is! The wood is pretty decent. No work needed! But… If I were to do anything, I’d paint the centers of the drawers a few different colors.

  2. margie says:

    NO PAINT!!! leave as-is or refinish, but NO PAINT!!! 😉

  3. margie says:

    btw, i LOVE the hardware! the handles are a dead giveaway for 70s furniture!

  4. sloeginfizz says:

    Paint that sucka!!!! Nah, just kidding. I’m liking the quality of wood — refinish! Can’t wait to see the outcome.

  5. kellie says:

    Love this piece! Where’d you find it?

Leave a Reply

