Easy Terrarium Tutorial

Recently while at Rust Belt Market I came across a cute setup of some great terrariums. Of course if your head isn’t under a rock, you’ve probably noticed that terrariums seem to be all the rage lately. Above is a preview of the one I’ll make today.

I have a fondness for succulents and have a lot of them at home. So, I thought I would make my own terrarium- after all its about time to trim and disperse my plants. First things first, here are the general supplies you’ll need…

I’m not sure what type of succulent this is, but I love its symmetry and how it looks like a flower.A few more around the house; an aloe on the left, a jade in the middle and I believe the right-most plant is actually a seddum…Most terrariums function to maintain a moist environment (i.e. lots of condensation) but in general succulents thrive in dry environments with well drained soil. Knowing this, I selected a glass container that has a larger opening at the top and chose to put a layer of pebbles at the bottom for drainage. A layer of activated charcoal, which helps with air filtration, was added between the rocks and soil.As for soil, I used some from my backyard since I’ve been successful using it with succulents in the past. Don’t have a backyard to dig in? No problem, you can buy soil specific to succulents or simply mix equal parts potting soil with coarse sand.

Since I’m trimming my plants I wont have a root-ball on my plants. If you buy plants at your local garden center you would simply take the plant out of it’s container and loosen the root-ball gently before planting it in the soil. 

I expect that some of my plants might not take off/root, but that’s ok, I have plenty more to add later on if need be! I water my succulents once or twice a month and keep them near a well light window. I added a few rocks from my Lake Michigan adventures for color and texture contrast. Now I just have to wait for them to grow and fill in a bit.

A terrarium makes a great gift- I’ve even seen some made in glass ornaments- cute! If you don’t have a tree, hanging terrariums are a great window dressing.

About Anna (three birds jewelry)

I love spending time gardening, paper crafting, sewing, knitting, and metalsmithing. I also love all sorts of DIY projects around the home. Anything hands on is usually my cup of tea. I look forward to sharing crafts and eventually introducing you to artists.
This entry was posted in Three Birds Jewelry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy Terrarium Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Easy Terrarium | ThreeBirdsJewelry

Leave a Reply

