Decisions decisions…

I’ve been toying around with the idea of using some papercraft creations as centerpieces for my wedding. I want to make globes and insert faux lights for gentle and romantic lighting. Lighting that feels something like this…To mix it up I plan to make the globes in various colors (soft yellow, white, & turquoise) and in three sizes.

The paint chip orb from ReadyMade was already on my radar. Each circle is folded and then glued together, so the process is a bit time consuming (and potentially messy). This ornament I made out of old Christmas cards took about 30-45mins…The second globe idea I found on How About Orange. The upside- no glue (just cutting) and BONUS there are templates for 3 sizes. The downside- they would have to be hand cut because I don’t have a Silhouette machine.

I did a trial run of the second globe in all three sizes…I was going to try and make the ReadyMade orbs in larger sizes, but these won me over. Not having to fold every piece of paper or use glue was a big bonus. Additionally, I can easily take one section off and insert a LED light the day of the wedding to illuminate the largest globe.

I was thinking they would look pretty good as decorations for the ceremony too…So, I think I’m on to something here! Now all I have to do is get my girlfriends to come over for crafts and cocktails to help me cut and assemble them.

Anyone else out there have a suggestion for a paper craft globe? I’d love to hear it!

About Anna (three birds jewelry)

I love spending time gardening, paper crafting, sewing, knitting, and metalsmithing. I also love all sorts of DIY projects around the home. Anything hands on is usually my cup of tea. I look forward to sharing crafts and eventually introducing you to artists.
This entry was posted in Three Birds Jewelry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Decisions decisions…

  1. Siobhan says:

    I’m a big orb fan as you know anna! Recently I stumbled upon this awesome idea — not orb or globe but great use of paper & light. http://fellowfellow.com/diy-houses-by-night/
    I could see you using nature photography!
    enjoy all the tinkering.

Leave a comment